Federal Energy Regulatory Commission skip navigation


Chairman Cheryl A. LaFleur

Chairman Cheryl A. LaFleur was first nominated by President Barack Obama to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission in 2010 and was confirmed for a second term by the Senate in 2014. She was named Acting Chairman on November 25, 2013 and Chairman on July 30, 2014.

Chairman LaFleur is honored to lead the Commission at a time when the nation is making substantial changes in its energy supply and infrastructure to meet environmental challenges and improve reliability and security. Since she joined the Commission, her priorities have included reliability and grid security, promoting regional transmission planning, and supporting a clean and diverse power supply. She serves as the FERC liaison to the Department of Energy’s Electricity Advisory Committee. She is a member of the NARUC Committees on Electricity and Critical Infrastructure and was co-chair of the FERC/NARUC Forum on Reliability and the Environment. She is a frequent speaker on energy issues. Learn More

Published Articles & Interviews | Dissent & Concurring Opinions [eLibrary]

  • Contact

    888 First Street, NE
    Washington, DC 20426
    Telephone: 202-502-8961
    Email: customer@ferc.gov

    If you wish to comment on an ongoing proceeding before the Commission, please visit our FERC Online section.

    Request for Speaking Engagements and Meetings
    Meeting & Speaking Request Form
  • Staff

    Kim Shannon,
    Confidential Assistant

    Jette Gebhart,
    Senior Policy Advisor

    Kurt Longo,
    Senior Policy Advisor

    Steven Wellner,
    Legal Advisor

    Andrew Weinstein,
    Legal Advisor

    Patricia Herrion,

  • Sworn In

    Sworn In for the New Term:
    July 29, 2014
    Term Expires:
    June 30, 2019

    Previously Sworn In:
    Sworn In:
    July 13, 2010
    Term Expires:
    June 30, 2014

Updated: January 23, 2015