Federal Energy Regulatory Commission skip navigation



 
Text Size small medium large
Small/Low-Impact Hydropower Projects


License Application Template
Applications for minor projects (1.5 MW or less) using the Traditional Licensing Process are subject to the regulations outlined below. Use the appropriate application template to assist in developing your license application. Although not required to do so, applicants may also provide copies of the draft application to Commission staff for their review and comment. Any comments provided by Commission staff are informal at this stage of the process as discussed below.

Note: The links below are external and you will be leaving FERC's website
Application Requirements Applicable Regulations
(18 CFR)
Application Template
General information 4.32(a) Original License DOC
General instructions and initial statement 4.61 (a)-(b)
Exhibit A (description of the project and proposed mode of operation) 4.61(c)
Exhibit E (environmental report) 4.61(d)
Exhibit F (general design drawings) 4.61(e)
Exhibit G (project maps) 4.61(f)
Documentation of pre-filing consultation 4.38(f) (original licenses)
16.8(f) (relicenses)

For information on developing design drawings (Exhibit F) and project maps (Exhibit G), see Preparing Exhibit Drawings for a License or Exemption Application.

For projects greater than 1.5 MW, see the Licensing Processes for general guidance.

  « Prepare Application


CONTACT
Conduit Exemptions
Robert Bell
Telephone: 202-502-6062
Email: robert.bell@ferc.gov

Northwest Area
(WA, OR, ID, MT, WY, AK, HI)
Ryan Hansen
Telephone: 202-502-8074
Email: ryan.hansen@ferc.gov

West Area
(CA, NV, AZ, NM, CO, UT)
Shana Murray
Telephone: 202-502-8333
Email: shana.murray@ferc.gov

Midwest Area
(ND, SD, NE, KS, MO, MN, WI, IA, IL, MI, IN, OH)
Lesley Kordella
Telephone: 202-502-6406
Email: lesley.kordella@ferc.gov

Mid-Atlantic Area
(VA, WV, MD, PA, NY, NJ, DE)
Monir Chowdhury
Telephone: 202-502-6736
Email: monir.chowdhury@ferc.gov

South Area
(TX, OK, AR, LA, MS, TN, AL, GA, KY, FL, NC, SC)
Michael Spencer
Telephone: 202-502-6093
Email: michael.spencer@ferc.gov

New England Area
(CT, MA, NH, VT, RI, ME)
Tom Dean
Telephone: 202-502-6041
Email: thomas.dean@ferc.gov
 
Small/Low-Impact Hydropower Projects

Main Page

Getting Started Prepare an Application Expedite Your Project


Updated: May 3, 2012