Federal Energy Regulatory Commission skip navigation



 
Text Size small medium large
Small/Low Impact Hydropower Program



On August 9, 2013, President Obama signed into law the "Hydropower Regulatory Efficiency Act of 2013". The act promotes small hydroelectric and conduit hydropower projects, authorizes FERC to extend preliminary permit periods, and promotes hydropower development at nonpowered dams and closed-loop pumped storage projects. Read More

Potential small hydropower site at existing mill damUnder the Federal Power Act (FPA), FERC regulates the nation's non-federal hydropower resources. FERC issues three types of development authorizations: conduit exemptions, 10-megawatt (MW) exemptions, and licenses. This website explains how to obtain Commission authorization to construct and operate small/low-impact projects while assuring adequate protection of environmental resources. This program is intended for small projects that would result in minor environmental effects (e.g., projects that involve little change to water flow and use and are unlikely to affect threatened and endangered species).

Getting Started Prepare an Application Expedite your Project


CONTACT
Conduit Exemptions
Robert Bell
Telephone: 202-502-6062
Email: robert.bell@ferc.gov

Northwest Area
(WA, OR, ID, MT, WY, AK, HI)
Ryan Hansen
Telephone: 202-502-8074
Email: ryan.hansen@ferc.gov

West Area
(CA, NV, AZ, NM, CO, UT)
Shana Murray
Telephone: 202-502-8333
Email: shana.murray@ferc.gov

Midwest Area
(ND, SD, NE, KS, MO, MN, WI, IA, IL, MI, IN, OH)
Tyrone Williams
Telephone: 202-502-6331
Email: tyrone.williams@ferc.gov

Mid-Atlantic Area
(VA, WV, MD, PA, NY, NJ, DE)
Monir Chowdhury
Telephone: 202-502-6736
Email: monir.chowdhury@ferc.gov

South Area
(TX, OK, AR, LA, MS, TN, AL, GA, KY, FL, NC, SC)
Michael Spencer
Telephone: 202-502-6093
Email: michael.spencer@ferc.gov

New England Area
(CT, MA, NH, VT, RI, ME)
Tom Dean
Telephone: 202-502-6041
Email: thomas.dean@ferc.gov
 
QUICK LINKS


Updated: November 4, 2014